Sports & Clubs

Below is a list of Glenelg High School sport teams, coach names and contact information:

Allied Bowling – Butch Schaffer, butch_schaffer@hcpss.org

Allied Soccer – Chris Rosas, christopher_rosas@hcpss.org

Baseball – Steve Tiffany, steven_tiffany@hcpss.org

Basketball (Boys) – Jansen McMillan, jansen_mcmillan@hcpss.org

Basketball (Girls) – David Ebbe, david_ebbe@hcpss.org

Cheerleading – Elissa Maisel, elissa_maisel@hcpss.org

Cross Country – Philip Johnson, philip_johnson@hcpss.org

Field Hockey – Nicole Trunzo, nicole_trunzo@hcpss.org

Football – Butch Schaffer, butch_schaffer@hcpss.org

Golf – Chris Beil, chris_beil@hcpss.org

Lacrosse (Boys) – Joshua Hatmaker, joshua_hatmaker@hcpss.org

Lacrosse (Girls) – Nicole Trunzo, nicole_trunzo@hcpss.org

Soccer (Boys) – Joseph Osborne, joseph_osborne@hcpss.org

Soccer (Girls) – Christian von Rautenkranz, christianvonr@aol.com

Softball – Raymond Gerstner, raymond_gerstner@hcpss.org

Tennis – Brett Schwartzbart, brett_schwartzbart@hcpss.org

Track – Philip Johnson, philip_johnson@hcpss.org

Volleyball – Jason Monjes, Jason_monjes@hcpss.org

Wrestling – Matt Bichner, mattbichner@gmail.com

Below is a list of Glenelg High Schools clubs, faculty advisor and contact information:

ALPHA ACHIEVERS

Alpha Achievers is an organization used to increase minority students’ awareness of themselves, their history, and their communities while highlighting the academic success of its members. Faculty advisor: TBA

ANIME CLUB

Anime fans watch Anime films and series and discuss related topics.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Laura Ohanian – laura_ohanian@hcpss.org

BIOLOGY OLYMPIAD

The USA Biology Olympiad (USABO) is a national competition sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Education to select the competitors for the International Biology Olympiad. The open exam is a short multiple choice exam open to all high school students administered later in the year.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Jessica Montminy – jessica_montminy@hcpss.org

BIOMEDICAL CLUB

Students discuss ways to improve human health.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Patricia Feinstein – patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org

BLACK STUDENT UNION

The Black Student Union (BSU) follows the 6P’s of Excellence from the Black Student

Achievement Program: Proud, Prompt, Persistent, Productive, Polite, and Prepared. The Black Student Union Club is a group of multicultural students gathering together to learn more about their history, culture, and heritage, while promoting diversity.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Pat Thorne – patricia_thorne@hcpss.org

CHINESE CULTURAL CLUB

The students watch movies in Chinese, practice writing, and discuss current affairs and culture, focusing on China.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Holly Eckard – holly_eckard@hcpss.org

CLASS OF 2019

Faculty advisor: Mr. Robert Spivey – robert_spivey@hcpss.org

CLASS OF 2020

Faculty advisor: Ms. Sarah Jansson – sarah_jansson@hcpss.org

CLASS of 2021

Faculty advisor: Mr. Justin Rix -justin_rix@hcpss.org

Ms. Jennifer Shepard – jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org

Mr. Paul Regis – paul_regis@hcpss.org

CLASS OF 2022

Faculty Advisor: TBA

CODING, GAME DESIGN, MAKER CLUB

Students use raspberry pi minicomputers to create, design, or make nearly anything they’re interested in!

Faculty advisors: Ms. Aimee Chanhatasilpa – aimee_chanhatasilpa@hcpss.org

Ms. Holly Eckard – holly_eckard@hcpss.org

COLOR GUARD

The color guard highlights and interprets music using flags, dance, and other props.

Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Blizzard – jennifer_blizzard-sisk@hcpss.org

COMPUTER CLUB

The computer club members practice solving problems from previous competitions and explore data structures and algorithms beyond the scope of the computer science courses offered at Glenelg High School.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Holly Eckard – holly_eckard@hcpss.org

DELTA SCHOLARS

Delta Scholars is open to all 10th – 12th​​ grade female students who have a GPA of 3.0 or higher. The goals for Delta Scholars are to encourage academic excellence, assist with goal setting, and provide leadership opportunities through community service.

Faculty advisors: Ms. Maurislyn Green – maurislyn_green@hcpss.org

Ms. Aimee Chanhatasilpa – aimee_chanhatasilpa@hcpss.org

D&D (Dungeons and Dragons)

Students role-play as fantastical heroes on daring adventures using dice and the rules of the world’s oldest role-playing game.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Marcy Burkom – marcy_burkom@hcpss.org

EDUCATORS RISING

The purpose of the club is to learn more about teaching and other related professions in the education field.

Faculty advisors: Ms. Michelle Oland – michelle_oland@hcpss.org

Ms. Kerry Johnson – kerry_johnson@hcpss.org

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

Members have the opportunity to develop skills in leadership to become contributing members of society.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Nicholas Formica – nicholas_formica@hcpss.org

FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes)

The Glenelg Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) is an organization that promotes community service, fellowship, and physical activity.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Phil Johnson – philip_johnson@hcpss.org

FILMMAKING CLUB

Calling themselves the Worthless Pruñes Productions, the club plots a story, works on a script, designs art, and does read-throughs.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Marcy Burkom – marcy_burkom@hcpss.org

FRENCH CLUB

Members celebrate French holidays, make crafts, watch movies, participate in community service activities, develop leadership skills and promote French culture.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Jean-Eddy Augustin – jean-eddy_augustin@hcpss.org

GBC (Glenelg Broadway Connections)

GBC is our peer and special needs theater club. It’s a full year club in which students learn and rehearse a production. Peers are partnered with special needs students to help them learn the music, acting, and dance for the show.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Kassidy Sharp – kassidy_sharp@hcpss.org

GEO (Glenelg Earth Organization)

The GEO club works in tandem with the custodians to take care of the school’s recycling. We also meet to discuss ideas dealing with green initiatives and ways to improve Glenelg’s carbon footprint.

Faculty advisors: Mr. Matthew Kinloch – matthew_kinloch@hcpss.org

Dr. Jennifer Shepard – jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org

GHS BOOK CLUB

This group of students meets to thoughtfully and respectfully discuss the MD One Book, MD Black Eyed Susans, and a variety of other books suggested by club members.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Dawn Currie-Scott – dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org

GLADIATORS ON THE HORIZON

Members mentor new GHS students to acclimate them to Glenelg and participate in fun activities throughout the year.

Faculty advisors:

Ms. Mindy Hirsch – mindy_hirsch@hcpss.org

Ms. Carolyn Davlin – carolyn_devlin@hcpss.org

HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America)

HOSA membership prepares students for a health-care career.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Leila Chawkat – leila_chawkat@hcpss.org

INTERNATIONAL CULTURAL CLUB

The students explore the beliefs and customs of different cultures to ensure a greater cultural understanding and sensitivity.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Karina De Sande – karina_aguilardedesande@hcpss.org

IT’S ACADEMIC TEAM

It’s Academic Team is a club that competes in trivia competitions, similar to the Jeopardy game show. Every year the club competes on the TV game show It’s Academic​ ​ which airs on Channel 13 WJZ on Saturday mornings at 10:00 a.m.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Kendall Morton – kendall_morton@hcpss.org

KEY CLUB

An internationally recognized organization, the Key Club is sponsored by Kiwanis

Leadership. Leadership opportunities exist in various roles and students are encouraged to organize outside activities and invite fellow members to participate.

Faculty advisors: Ms. Carol Doermann – carol_doermann@hcpss.org

Mr. Josh Mize – joshua_mize@hcpss.org

MAGIC: THE GATHERING

Students cast spells and battle wizards in this fantasy card game.

Faculty advisor: Mr. John Ballentine – john_ballentine@hcpss.org

MARINE CLUB

Students will be in charge of the organism selection, care, and maintenance for all aquariums, involve themselves in field activities with The Chesapeake Bay Program and Baltimore Aquarium, and engage in community outreach.

Faculty Advisor: Mr. Paul Regis – paul_regis@hcpss.org

MARYLAND AND NATIONAL JUNIOR CLASSICAL LEAGUE

This club is for students interested in Latin, Roman culture, history, mythology, and civilization.

Faculty advisors: Ms. Melinda Devaney – melinda_cunningham@hcpss.org

Ms. Haley Castelli – haley_castelli@hcpss.org

MATH TEAM

Participating on the Math Team allows students to engage with other students and become engaged in higher-level critical thinking and problem solving.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Rachel Lindner – rachel_lindner@hcpss.org

MOCK TRIAL TEAM

Students work in teams to experience firsthand the process of preparing a case for trial and then trying the case against other high school teams.

Advisor: Mr. Steve Musselman – smusselmaniphone@gmail.com

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

Faculty Advisors: Ms. Herjit Jandu – herjit_kaur_jandu@hcpss.org

Ms. Patricia Feinstein – patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY DANCE ARTS

Faculty advisor: Ms. Jennifer Seye – jennifer_seye@hcpss.org

NATIONAL LATIN HONOR SOCIETY

Faculty advisor: Ms. Melinda Cunningham – melinda_cunningham@hcpss.org

NATIONAL MATH HONOR SOCIETY

Faculty advisor: Mr. Christopher Rosas – christopher_rosas@hcpss.org

NATIONAL SCIENCE SOCIETY

Faculty advisor: Mr. Lucero Cabotaje – lucero_cabotaje@hcpss.org

NATIONAL SPANISH HONOR SOCIETY

Faculty advisor: Ms. Aracelis Virella – aracelis_virella@hcpss.org

NATIONAL TECHNICAL HONOR SOCIETY

Faculty advisors: Mr. Raymond Gerstner – raymond_gerstner@hcpss.org

Mr. William Aldrich – william_aldrich@hcpss.org

PHOTO CLUB

This club welcomes anyone who enjoys capturing moments on film.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Rachel Stein – rachel_stein1@hcpss.org

POMS

Students participate in competitive dance.

Advisor: Ms. Terri Newsome – theresa_newsome@hcpss.org

PROM SAFETY COMMITTEE:​

This committee develops activities which heighten awareness of the dangers of underage drinking and driving while intoxicated.

Faculty advisor: Officer Steve Willingham – steve_willingham@hcpss.org

SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions):

SADD meets approximately once a month, targeting areas in which students are making poor/risky decisions (i.e., vaping, smoking, drinking).

Faculty advisor: Officer Steve Willingham – steve_willingham@hcpss.org

SAGA (Sexuality and Gender Alliance):

This club provides a safe meeting place for students who are gay, lesbian, transgendered, and straight. We discuss issues that affect gay, lesbian, and transgendered students in and out of the school environment.

Faculty Advisor: Ms. Patricia Feinstein – patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org

SGA (Student Government Association):

The highlight of the club is the planning and execution of the Glenelg Homecoming theme, parade, and dance.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Chris Winters – christopher_winters@hcpss.org

SIGN LANGUAGE CLUB

Members learn about sign language and the signing culture.

Faculty advisor: Mr. William Aldrich – william_aldrich@hcpss.org

SPANISH CLUB:

Members celebrate Hispanic holidays, make crafts, watch movies, participate in community service activities, develop leadership skills and promote Spanish and Hispanic cultures.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Denise Frank – denise_frank@hcpss.org

TABLE-TENNIS CLUB

Table-Tennis Club is an opportunity for students to participate in tournament play after school. Students can choose to play either in singles or doubles.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Maureen Hammond – maureen_hammond@hcpss.org

THEATRICAL PRODUCTIONS

Theatrical productions are the main stage productions. There are both fall and spring productions each year. Members do not need to be in a drama class to audition.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Kassidy Sharp – kassidy_sharp@hcpss.org

US FIRST ROBOTICS

The team cooperatively builds and programs a robot to perform tasks against competitor robots in a national competition.

Faculty advisor: Mr. Raymond Gerstner – raymond_gerstner@hcpss.org

WHAT’S SHÖP

This is a club for students with a passion for woodworking.

Faculty Advisors: Mr. William Aldrich – william_aldrich@hcpss.org

Mr. Nicholas Formica – nicholas_formica@hcpss.org

YOGA CLUB

The club’s main focus is the practice of yoga, which includes breathing techniques, poses, and meditation to strengthen body and mind.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Leah Woodbury – leah_woodbury@hcpss.org

YOUNG DEMOCRATS CLUB

This is a student-run club which explores and evaluates the principles of the Democratic Party.

Faculty advisor: Ms. Leah Woodbury – leah_woodbury@hcpss.org

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options